Injibara University Ethiopia

Injibara University Ethiopia official website  Ethiopia opted to expand higher education, on the premise that Education is a weapon to eradicate poverty. In recognition to this fundamental principle, 11 new universities have been established in the second Growth and Transformation Plan (GTP II) in which Injibara University is one of the 11 universities.

The second growth and transformation plan is planned to be executed from 2008-2012 E.C. Injibara University is situated in Awi Zone which is one of 10 Zones in the Amhara National Regional state of Ethiopia.

Injibara University

The mission of Injibara University is to produce competent graduates with skill, attitude, and discipline; delivering community service; conducting need-based and demand-driven research.

The vision of Injibara University is to become one of the best university in Ethiopia and renown university in Africa in 2030

Features University Logo
  • Injibara University (INU)
  • Type: Public
  • Location: Injibara, Ethiopia.
  • Established in 2015
  • President: Berhanu Belay (Professor),
  • Total Students: 7000
  • Language: English
  • Admission mode: Online/Offline
  • Distance Education: YES
  • Total Colleges: 04
  • Department: 29
  • Directorates: 16
  • Undergraduate programs: Yes
  • Postgraduate programs: YES
  • Total Campuses: 02
  • Official Website:
Injibara University 


It is located between the magnificent mountains in the highlands of Ethiopia, and only about 110 km from Bahir Dar, the capital of the ANRS and 455 km from Addis Ababa, the capital city of Ethiopia.

The University is well situated in Injibara town which is the gateway to mega projects such as the great Ethiopian Great reminiscence dam and Beles Sugar Project. These megaprojects will serve as a teaching and research laboratories for our staff and students and benefit from the location advantage.


The University currently has four programs (College of Agriculture, Food and Climate Sciences, Natural and Computational Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanity and Business and Economics) and expected to enroll 7000 students by 2019/2010 in a regular program by diversifying programs.


College of Agriculture, Food and Climate Sciences (CAFCS)

  • Department Forestry and Climate Science
  • Department Agricultural Economics
  • Department Natural Resources Management
  • Department of Horticulture
  • Department of Plant Sciences
  • Department of Animal Science

College of Natural and Computational Science (CNCS)

  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Biology
  • Department of Data Science/statistics/
  • Department of Physics
  • Department Sport Sciences

College of Business and Economics (CBE)

  • Department of Accounting and Finance
  • Department of Economics
  • Department Marketing Management
  • Department of Management
  • Department of Hotel and Tourism

College of Social Science and Humanity (CSSH)

  • Department English
  • Department of Geography and Environmental Sciences
  • Department of History
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Sociology


Contacts & Address

Berhanu Belay/Professor/
President of Injibara University

See also: